Vegetarian Halupki! whodathunk :)

Greetings bloggerbobbers, Amanda here!

This week, at the suggestion of my mom I decided to celebrate my Czech heritage with a bit of halupki, vegetarian style! I spent a while online browsing meat and meatless versions alike and found a common theme and then simply combined my favorite parts! I’m going to sort of combine the method and ingredients sections this week as I am writing from memory, so bear with me (I’ll bold the ingredients as I go).

What do you do?

Heat up 1 can tomato soup in a small pot. While that is heating, peel 12-15 leaves off of 1 head of cabbage, make sure they are large as they will have stuffing in them and will be folded up. Bring a pot of water to boil and proceed to boil the cabbage for 2 minutes, after which taking them out of the hot water and placing them on a plate. For the stuffing: 1 bag meatless scramble, 1 package baby portabella mushrooms, 1 onion. Chop the onion and slice mushrooms. Saute the scramble first and then add the mushrooms and onion, sauteing until onions are crystalized and the mushrooms are soft. Place a scoop of the stuffing into the cabbage leaf and roll it up, then place it into the tomato soup in a 9X12 casserole oven-proof dish. Bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour with aluminum foil covering the dish.

Enjoy, it turned out fantastically!! 🙂

~ Amanda

Tags:

2 Responses to “Vegetarian Halupki! whodathunk :)”

  1. Christy Says:

    this sounds DELICIOUS!!!

    i just ate and and reading this is making me hungry again!

  2. Holly Jackson Says:

    mmmmm!!

Leave a comment