A Pizza for Springtime

Hi everyone!

I realized last week that it has been quite some time since I’ve written anything on here…I believe around Christmas was the last time. Oops! I will attempt to write more regularly. Schoolwork seems to have a mind of its own, however, and likes to completely control my life…is that normal? I suppose so. Anyway, it is spring break, which gives me a little more free time, and I have a wonderful recipe to share with you today. I made this a few weeks ago and was thrilled with the way it turned out. I have attempted to make homemade pizza in the past and the crust has turned out pretty thick, which still produces a good pizza, but is just a little bready. Also, I’ve never thought to make a pizza without a tomato sauce as the base. I know that probably sounds silly, but to me pizza has always been crust, red sauce and cheese (and of course any other toppings…I personally like anchovies on my pizza, but I realize that’s kind of freakish and weird, so we’ll just leave that subject alone). This pizza was different because it had a very thin crust and pesto as the base, rather than red sauce. The recipe, complete with step-by-step photos is on Pioneer Woman’s website, so I won’t bother reposting the whole recipe here. Just go to http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/02/my-favorite-pizza/ and be prepared for deliciousness! This pizza was so good that I am actually making it tonight for my mom and I for dinner. As a note, the recipe calls for olive oil under the cheese, eggplant and tomato, but says that pesto can also be used. Because pesto sounded so much more delicious than olive oil, I decided to use that instead, and I’m really glad I did! I unfortunately don’t have any pictures of the pizza I made, because it was cut and eaten before I even thought about getting my camera out (we were a little hungry), but Pioneer Woman has plenty of pictures on her site. Enjoy!

~Cassie

One Response to “A Pizza for Springtime”

  1. Christy Says:

    This was TOTAL yum…and I ate it COLD! I can only imagine how good it was hot and fresh!

Leave a comment